Resources

The Fredericksburg SPCA is a humane Animal Resource Center with limited space to take in new animals. We try and provide assistance to the public through our grants, programs and resources. If you need help re-homing your animal, would like to apply for medical assistance or become part of our Pet Pantry program, follow the links below.



If you need additional or immediate assistance, you may try use the lists below which provide alternative resources, rescues, and shelters, as well as the downloadable references for pet parents.

Cat Rescue Groups, Shelters, Sanctuaries

Although we have no affiliation with any of these groups and do not know their specific policies, we would like to offer them as additional resources for you to consider. Many of these organizations are foster-based and may not have an actual shelter location. Please call or email them for additional details.
Country Cats Rescuecatrescueje@gmail.com540-207-1589
4PAWS Rescue Teaminfo@4paws.org703-715-6369
A Cat's Friendvickij0205@hotmail.com571-264-1657
A Tail To Be Told Animal Rescueatailtobetold@gmail.com540-907-1843
Alley Cat AlliesFeral cats only240-482-1980
Animal Allieswebmaster@animalallies.com703-940-9183
Animal Connectionskstraley.ac@gmail.com434-589-3834
Fancy Cats Rescueinfo@fancycats.org703-961-1056
Friends of Homeless Animalsfoha_info@foha.org703-385-0224
HART Homeless Animals Rescue Teamhart90office@hart90.org703-691-4278
Humane Society of Culpeperinfo@adoptculpeperpets.org540-727-7554
King George Animal Rescue Leagueinfo@kgarl.org888-542-7582
Lost Dog & Cat Rescue Foundationinfo@lostdogrescue.org703-295-3647
Meow Storiesmeowstories@gmail.com540-373-5515
Metro FeralFeral cats only703-655-6710
Operation Hoodoperationhoodcats@gmail.com
Paws for Seniors (ages 7+ years) info@pawsforseniors.org540-748-8177
Rikki's Refugemail@rikkisrefuge.org540-854-0870
Riverside Rescueriversiderescue@msn.com703-978-7274
Shadow Cat AdvocatesFeral cats only - info@shadowcatadvocates.org540 226-0050
Siamese Cat Rescue Centervasrc@siameserescue.org540-672-6373
Spotsylvania County Animal ShelterAnimal@spotsylvania.va.us 540-507-7459
Stafford County Animal Shelteranimalshelter@staffordcountyva.gov540-658-7387
Stafford SPCAmail@staffordspca.org540-657-7387
The Feline Foundationinfo@ffgw.org703-920-8665

Dog Rescue Groups, Shelters, Sanctuaries

Although we have no affiliation with any of these groups and do not know their specific policies, we would like to offer them as additional resources for you to consider. Many of these organizations are foster-based and may not have an actual shelter location. Please call or email them for additional details.
A Forever Home Rescue Foundationinfo@aforeverhome.org703-961-8690
Animal Connectionskstraley.ac@gmail.com434-589-3834
Bobbie's Pit Bull Rescue & Sanctuarybobbiespitrescue@gmail.com540-903-1191 - Please only call in the case of an EMERGENCY
Bully Paws - Pit Bull Patriotsbullypawsrescue@gmail.com540-645-9385
Fauquier SPCAfspca@fauquierspca.com540-788-9000
Friends of Homeless Animalsfoha_info@foha.org703-385-0224
HART Homeless Animals Rescue Teamhart90office@hart90.org703-691-4278
Humane Society of Culpeperinfo@adoptculpeperpets.org540-727-7554
Humane Society of Fairfaxpets@hsfc.org703-385-7387
Humane Society of Loudonhelpanimals@humaneloudoun.org703-777-0406
King George Animal Rescue Leagueinfo@kgarl.org888-542-7582
Lost Dog & Cat Rescue Foundationinfo@lostdogrescue.org703-295-3647
Old Dominion Humane Societyolddominionhumanesociety@gmail.com
Paws for Seniors (ages 7+ years) info@pawsforseniors.org540-748-8177
Pet Assistance League of Virginia (PAL)info@pal-va.org540-659-5018
Pets with Disabilities petswithdisabilities@comcast.net 443-624-9270
Richmond SPCAadmissions@richmondspca.org804-521-1306
Rikki's Refugemail@rikkisrefuge.org540-854-0870
Riverside Rescueriversiderescue@msn.com703-978-7274
SPCA of Northern VirginiaDog_Committee@spcanova.org703-799-9390
Spotsylvania County Animal ShelterAnimal@spotsylvania.va.us 540-507-7459
Stafford County Animal Shelteranimalshelter@staffordcountyva.gov540-658-7387
Stafford SPCAmail@staffordspca.org540-657-7387
The Dancing Bear RescuePBulls4U@Yahoo.com540-288-1499

 

Pet Insurance Reviews & Buyers Guide

Downloadable references for pet parents: